National Awards for State Chapters

Apply by January 17, 2020

State chapter awards are presented annually at the ASTA National Conference during the State Leadership Workshop. All winners receive a commemorative plaque and coverage in the American String Teacher journal. Please note that states are not eligible for the same award in two consecutive years (i.e., the chapter that won Best Website Award 2019 is ineligible for the Best Website Award 2020 - but could win Most Improved Chapter 2020 or any other award).

Membership Recruitment Award
Determined by the net gain of members for the previous calendar year. (No application required.)

Best Newsletter Award
Submit three (3) copies of your last two (2) newsletters to the ASTA national office at the address below. Submit electronic newsletters to

Most Improved Chapter Award
Submit a list of at least three (3) reasons why your chapter should be considered for this award. Send submissions to Criteria could include, but is not limited to:
  1. Recruitment of new members
  2. Newly created board positions
  3. New activities
  4. New website or newsletter
  5. New student chapters

Outstanding Chapter Award

Nominate your chapter for the Outstanding State Chapter Award by submitting a written statement to the ASTA national office at, explaining why your chapter is most deserving. This might include events you hosted, increased participation at chapter events, significant financial grants distributed, etc.

State Chapter Leader Award

To nominate a current (2018-2020) or previous (2016-2018) board member who has demonstrated exemplary service for your state, submit your nomination via email to with the subject line "State Chapter Leader Award Submission" and at least a one-paragraph description of why your nominee deserves the award.

Best Website Award
Send your chapter website’s URL to with the subject line "Best Website Award Submission." (Don’t have a website? Consider offering a membership to a student ASTA member in exchange for his or her web design skills. Your treasury may be used to finance the student membership! You also might try offering free advertising space on your site to a company that will design/maintain/host your chapter website.)

Materials may be sent to the ASTA national office at 4155 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030, or via email to The deadline for 2020 award applications is January 17, 2020. A committee will review all submissions; awards will be presented at the State Leadership Workshop during the ASTA National Conference.

2019 winners include:

  • Chapter Leadership Award: Christina Givan, Kentucky
  • Best Newsletter: South Carolina
  • Best Website: Maryland/Washington DC
  • Membership Recruitment: Colorado, New Mexico, Wyoming
  • Outstanding Chapter: Maryland/Washington DC

2018 winners include:

  • Best Newsletter:  Maryland/Washington DC
  • Best Website:  New York
  • Membership Recruitment:  Mississippi, Texas
  • Most Improved Chapter: North Carolina

2017 winners include:

  • Best Newsletter:  Minnesota
  • Best Website:  Michigan

2016 winners include:

  • Best Newsletter:  Maryland/Washington DC
  • Best Website:  Indiana
  • Membership Recruitment:  Wyoming
  • Most Improved Chapter:  Washington
  • Outstanding Chapter:  New Jersey